Reviews

Shirley’s review

March 2018

The house was beautiful and so convenient for pub/shop/breakfast cafe/beach etc which are all at the bottom of the road. The owners went out of their way to ensure that I was very comfortable and had everything that might be required. Netflix was provided for when you got tired of enjoying the view from the balcony and being able to use amenities such as the BBQ and washing machine was very useful. The garden was lovely and full of birds, including a Kaka which came to visit me in the mornings and lots of Tuis chattering in the evenings. The worm toilet was an added bonus and gave you the feel of real island living!

L EL E’s Review

28 Apr – 2 May 2021

Overall rating 5*

Clean and tidy and fully stocked with everything you could need. Heaps of amazing books to peruse in front of the fire. Awesome location, highly recommmended!

Johnny’s Review

2 Apr – 5 Apr 2021

Overall rating 5*

Incredibly easy rental experience with Rendt. Great house and location! Rendt was very helpful in accommodating our needs. A super experience, thank…read more

Gillian’s Review

11 Mar – 14 Mar 2021

Overall rating 5*

An idyllic cottage, close to all the amenities Tryphena has to offer. A great place to explore the island from or just chill on the deck.

Elizabeth’s Review

28 Jan – 5 Feb 2021

Overall rating 5*

Great house and location – spacious and wonderful place to relax with fabulous hosts.

Kate’s Review

19 Jan – 23 Jan 2021

Overall rating 5*

Lovely spot, perfect for a relaxed stay with small children. Handy to the store and pub and you can walk to gooseberry flat beach.

Alice’s Review

3 Jan – 8 Jan 2021

Overall rating 5*

We loved our stay at Rendt’s. It was the perfect place to enjoy the charm that is the barrier. It’s good vibes – warm and inviting, full of books and nooks to sit back and relax. We immediately felt at ease here and would recommend it for anyone looking for time out. Our young kids loved it.

Louisa’s Review

30 Dec 2020 – 3 Jan 2021

Overall rating 4*

Great location and a great child friendly space

Kesia’s Review

19 Dec – 23 Dec 2020

Overall rating 5*

Great location, close to the store, pub and beach. Very helpful hosts who provided everything we needed for our toddler.

Craig’s Review

6 Nov – 13 Nov 2020

Overall rating 5*

Public review

Amazing place, super location and instantly relaxing as soon as you walk through the front door

Ross’s Review

12 Feb – 19 Feb 2020

Overall rating 4*

Public review

great location, good value, good amenities (wifi, TV)

Alana’s Review

14 Jan – 17 Jan 2020

Overall rating 5*

We loved Cabbage Tree Cottage, a perfect base to relax. Close to the shop/cafe and swimming beaches great views and this place has everything you need. The perfect place to recharge and enjoy the island.

Andrew’s Review

6 Jan – 10 Jan 2020

Overall rating 5*

It is a lovely, homely space, feels very private on the deck overlooking lush greenery and a glimpse of the bay. Enjoyed reading my book in the hammock protected from the wind. Rendt very helpful with info and tips on what to do on the island, and about off the grid living

Nicola’s Review

23 Dec – 30 Dec 2019

Overall rating 5*

This place is a little slice of bliss. Literally down the road from Tryphena central shop, cafe, pub and beach. Mountains of books await and thoughtful hosts. Birdlife swoops above the deck and around a tree filled backyard with a peek of sea view. A great ‘off the grid’ experience.

John’s Review

6 Mar – 13 Mar 2019

Overall rating 5*

The location of Rendt’s house is just perfect. It is close to safe and beatiful beaches, a cafe, general shop and pub. I think it is the best area to stay in the island. We walked the beach to see stars at night. All amenities were eqipped very well and we had no problem to communicate with Rendt. Nice house to stay for a week. I definetly would come back to Rendt’s house.

Carolyn’s Review

1 Feb – 8 Feb 2019

Overall rating 5*

Awesome place and great hospitality. Thanks so much for another great trip to Barrier.

Kyle And Jen’s Review

28 Jan – 1 Feb 2019

Overall rating 5*

The home was super cozy and the perfect place to relax after a day exploring the island. I love how eco-conscious the owners are and very willing to share their island knowledge with guests.

Scroll to Top